Graduate Affairs Committee Minutes January 12, 2015

Members Present: Robert A. Vaughan, Jr. (Chair), Dennis Attick, Craig Hill, Victoria Foster, R. B. Rosenburg, Susan Ashford, Richard Pearce-Moses, Sam Maddox, Ali Dadpay, and Celeste Walley-Jean.

Members Not Present: Christopher Raridan, Patricia Smith, Charles Elfer, Michelle Furlong, Jufang Qu, Tom McIlwain, Jason Davis, Mari Roberts, Susan Copeland, Elliot Krop, and Kelli Nipper

Meeting called to order at 2:00 p.m.

The minutes from December 8, 2014 Graduate Affairs Committee meeting were reviewed. A motion to approve the minutes was made by Dadpay and approved by the Committee.

Dr. Vaughan began the discussion regarding the current Graduate Affairs Committee membership policy. Several additional changes were requested to be made to the document. A motion to approve the policy with the changes requested was made by Pearce-Moses, seconded by Maddox and approved by the committee.

The Committee discussed the need to update the Graduate Faculty membership policy. Dr. Walley-Jean indicated she would revise the policy for the committee to review at the next meeting.

Dr. Vaughan began the discussion of the policy of requiring graduate students to be enrolled their last semester. The committee felt the policy was reasonable and do not see any reason to change the policy at this time.

Dr. Vaughan asked the committee if the date and time of the Graduate Affairs meeting should be changed this semester. A motion to keep the date (second Monday of each month) and time (2:00 pm) the same was made by Pearce-Moses, seconded by Maddox, and approved by the committee. Foster abstained from the vote. The committee agreed that the date for the March 2015 meeting should be moved to March 16 since the original day is during spring break week.

Meeting adjourned at 3:15 p.m. Submitted by Elizabeth Taylor