Graduate Affairs Committee Minutes July 14, 2014

Members Present: Robert A. Vaughan, Jr. (Chair), Sam Maddox, Elliot Krop, Craig Hill, Victoria Foster, David Gilbert for R. B. Rosenburg, Richard Pearce-Moses, Mari Roberts, Tom McIlwain, Patricia Smith, Susan Copeland, Kelli Nipper represented by Elliot Krop, Ali Dadpay, and Celeste Walley-Jean.

Members Not Present: Jennell Charles, Susan Ashford, Christopher Raridan and Dennis Attick

Meeting called to order at 2:00 p.m.

The minutes from May 12, 2014 Graduate Affairs Committee meeting were reviewed. A motion to approve the minutes was made by Dadpay and approved by the Committee.

The Committee reviewed the Graduate Faculty applications listed below:

- Lou Orchard (Ph.D.), College of Arts and Sciences (Full) –
 recommendation to approve was made by McIlwain, seconded by
 Roberts, approved by the Committee.
- Celeste Surreira (DNP), College of Health (Associate) recommendation to approve was made by McIlwain, seconded by Smith, approved by the Committee.
- Ken Nelson (DNP), College of Heath (Affiliate) recommendation to approve was made by Maddox, seconded by Roberts, approved by the Committee.
- John Bryan (Ph.D.), College of Health (Associate 3 years) recommendation to approve was made by Maddox, seconded by McIlwain, approved by the Committee.

Vaughan began a discussion on the need to update the Graduate Affairs Committee membership policy. With the addition of new concentrations for the various degree programs and Graduate Directors for these concentrations, it is important to ensure the number of administrative/appointed and elected members on this committee is proportional. A subcommittee was appointed to rewrite bylaws section 2 and criteria 2c. The subcommittee is Mari Roberts (chair), Celeste Walley-Jean, and Patricia Smith. A proposal on changes to these sections will be presented at the September meeting.

Meeting adjourned at 3:25 p.m. Submitted by Elizabeth Taylor